The lure of place

There are places I inhabit,

that exist within me

where I can imagine living,

intend to live, have lived

have dreamt about

-or sensed.

 

There are men in turquoise cloaks

stooped over stews of melon seed and okra,

palm-covered entrances

and caves lined with shells,

there are so many places: ports and mountain hideaways,

jagged cliffs that overhang.

 

It seems, sometimes, as if I span these places,

am forever overwhelmed, desirous,

as if landing for an hour at Lagos airport

wanting to discover

everything.

 

I find places within places

on the way home,

the wind brings news to me

of oceans,

and leaves me wanting elsewhere.

 

This very street has been

a thousand streets to me,

imprints itself repeatedly,

my footsteps join past footsteps

retrace themselves.

 

I grow incredibly attached to things:

roots, the changing sculptures

of trees, this country seen from overhead

its ancient streets that glaze at night

cast streaks that take me back.

 

It is as if I could gorge myself,

the university courtyards glimpsed

in perfect symmetry,

the air as if finely scattered

with the dust of polished diamonds.

 

And then here, my own room,

above my bookcase silhouette,

cars passing their searchlights

across my dreams and

the shadows of my flowers.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment